California Domestic Violence Attorney
California Domestic Violence Defense
San Francisco San Mateo Marin Alameda Santa Clara Contra Costa
California Domestic Violence Lawyer Criminal Case Restraining Orders About our Firm Contact Us
Domestic Violence
Introduction
What to do First
Arrest
Finding Someone in Jail
Pretrial Release
Investigation
Criminal Case
Protective Orders
Restraining Orders
California Law
Federal Law
California Courts
Court Appointed Lawyers
Domestic Abuse
Treatment Programs
Invasion of Privacy
No Diversion
Punishment
Trial Issues
Frequently Asked Questions
View our informative domestic violence videos by clicking here.
We accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover.

Invasion of Privacy

When the criminal justice system comes to your living room you need a domestic violence attorney to defend you. Even if your arrest was “just a misunderstanding.” Once a defendant is convicted the State of California has the power to come into their home to tell them what to do, and it is going to try to exert that power. When a person is arrested for domestic violence the state has one foot in the door.

If you get convicted of domestic violence the probation department will supervise you for at least three years. If you don’t do what they tell you to their satisfaction you may end up back in jail or wearing an orange Sheriff’s Department vest picking up trash for 10 days or more. You must pay fees for the privilege of serving your time through SWAP. Judges, probation officers and the people who run the mandatory batterer’s programs have little patience with people on probation. They expect you to put compliance with the conditions of your probation ahead of your job, your property, supporting your family, and keeping a roof over your head. They would rather you became homeless than fail to meet your probationary obligations. They are suspicious and want documentation of medical appointments, jobs, program attendance, etc.

Defendants give up a number of rights while they are on probation. There is the risk that your partner will falsely accuse you of a new incident of domestic violence the next time they get mad at you. If they call the police on you again you will be in a lot of trouble. A judge will decide whether you broke the law or not, based on a more likely than not standard. It is not uncommon for a defendant to show up in court for a case status report and for the district attorney to stand up and ask for them to be remanded into custody based on a new police report alleging a violation of a restraining order or a new incident of violence. Next thing you know the judge is looking at a police report your domestic violence lawyer has just seen a few minutes ago. When this happens there is a chance that you will go back to jail for a week, two weeks or longer, until the judge holds a hearing on the new incident.

If you are already on probation for a case beware of discussing the facts of the new case with your probation officer. Insist that you have to talk to a lawyer before you talk to them about it, and you are asserting your constitutional right to remain silent.

Victims of domestic violence may also be subjected to the court’s processes. The district attorney can threaten to prosecute a victim who recants (changes their story about the domestic incident in a way that helps the defendant) for perjury. A judge can hold a victim who refuses to testify against the defendant in contempt and send them to 72 hours of domestic violence counseling. If the victim still refuses to testify Code of Civil Procedure section 1219(c) gives the judge the authority to put the victim in jail. The marital privilege to not testify does not apply where defendant’s spouse or child is a victim. If the victim is absent and unavailable to testify at a misdemeanor trial the prosecution will often try to introduce statements the victim made around the time of the incident. The defense may be able to keep these statements from coming into evidence using the 2004 Crawford v. Washington U.S. Supreme Court case (124 S.Ct. 1354).

If you own guns and are convicted of domestic violence you will not be able to own guns while you are on probation. You will have to sell the guns to a licensed gun dealer or give the weapon to the police. The police can seize any guns in your possession when they arrest you for domestic violence offenses.

Experienced Domestic Violence Lawyer

The stakes are high in a California domestic violence case. A criminal conviction for domestic battery or criminal threats in California may result in jail, large fines, mandatory domestic violence counseling sessions which meet two (2) hours weekly for a minimum of one year, mandatory alcohol education classes, personal conduct orders, stay away orders, temporary restraining orders, and other punishment as provided by Penal Code section 1203.097. For that reason, it is critical that that a person charged with domestic assault, domestic battery, criminal threats or stalking have only a qualified domestic violence defense lawyer to handle the case from the earliest possible moment.

Robert Tayac is recognized as being among the top domestic violence lawyers in California and represents clients in criminal cases related to domestic violence, assault and battery, and applications for and responses to restraining orders. Attorneys, investigators and experts working with this highly specialized law office represent clients in the Northern California criminal courts located in San Francisco, San Mateo Marin, Alameda, Santa Clara, Contra Costa, Sonoma and Napa counties. Additionally, lawyers of this law firm represent clients seeking or defending against temporary restraining orders and no harassment orders before the superior courts of San Francisco, San Rafael, Redwood City, South San Francisco, Napa, Oakland, Palo Alto, Walnut Creek, San Jose and Santa Rosa. The firm accepts only California domestic battery cases, California temporary restraining order actions or California driving under the influence cases.

Contact The Office


An arrest for domestic battery, domestic assault, criminal threats or stalking in California may result in actual jail, large fines, mandatory 52 weeek batterer's treatment program, mandatory alcohol education classes, and other punishment. For that reason, it is important that you have only a qualified California criminal defense lawyer handling your domestic violence case from the beginning. If you or someone you know has been or may be accused of domestic violence, we invite you to read the information contained in this website and welcome you to call our office and discuss your case with a domestic violence lawyer. If you prefer, you may submit a confidential case questionnaire which will be reviewed by a member of our firm and receive a prompt response.

If you hire Robert Tayac to handle your domestic violence case, you will know your case is being properly handled by a knowledgeable, experienced, and trustworthy California criminal defense lawyer.

Office Locations and Areas We Serve

Mr. Tayac represents clients who have been arrested in the following counties as well as other cities throughout California and can meet clients at one of several office locations in Northern California.

Resources

This website is about California’s domestic violence laws and the San Francisco and Bay Area courts. Domestic violence cases in California frequently must be fought. Many people arrested for domestic violence are innocent. A person doesn't have to commit a crime to be taken to jail by the police, especially in domestic abuse cases.